Skip to main content

Luo recognized as materials science and engineering leader


In 2023, The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society (TMS) will present two prestigious honors to Alan Luo, professor of materials science and engineering and integrated systems engineering at The Ohio State University.

He will receive the society’s Research to Industrial Practice Award and has been elevated to Class of Fellow.

Dr. Alan Luo

The Research to Industrial Practice Award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in transferring research results or findings into commercial production and practical use. Luo has made significant research and practical contributions to light metals technology throughout his career in the automotive industry and as a professor at Ohio State. His expertise includes lightweight materials, advanced manufacturing processes and integrated computational materials engineering.

“I am deeply honored to receive the Research to Industrial Practice Award from my peers at TMS,” Luo said. “As a materials scientist and engineer, I have always believed that the best scientific research should lead to real-world applications. I am thankful for my students, colleagues and collaborators who helped me achieve these innovations. I also feel fortunate to be associated with TMS during my industrial and academic career. The TMS community has always been a source of scientific knowledge and endless inspiration for innovations.”

Prior to joining Ohio State in 2013, Luo was a GM Technical Fellow at General Motors Global Research and Development Center with 20 years of industrial experience.

Professor Emeritus James Williams received the Research to Industrial Practice Award in 2003.

Presented annually, the TMS Fellow Award recognizes members who have made outstanding contributions to the practice of metallurgy/materials science and technology. Luo is one of just seven TMS members who will be elevated to Class of Fellow in 2023 for his outstanding research and industrial implementation of lightweight alloys and manufacturing processes, innovative teaching and sustained service in materials processing technologies. He was nominated by University of California Irvine Professor Diran Apelian, a recipient of the TMS Fellow Award in 2006.

“This award also gives me an opportunity to thank my family and especially my wife of 34 years for the greatest support to my hard work,” Luo added. “I will strive to devote my best efforts to educate young engineers and innovate with them in materials science and processing technologies.”

In addition to his work as a professor, Luo serves as the faculty director for the Materials Innovation Lab at the Center for Design and Manufacturing Excellence (CDME). The lab at CDME includes Ohio State's foundry, which Luo manages. 

Professor Luo will accept his awards in March during the TMS 2023 Annual Meeting & Exhibition in San Diego.

Ohio State faculty members previously elevated to TMS Fellow include: Dennis Dimiduk (2019); Michael Mills (2015); Hamish Fraser (2005); Robert Wagoner (2003); and David B. Williams (1996).


Article by College of Engineering, December 12, 2022